Gandi.net Groups

Domain General: Re: one of your clients, thereiner.eu is spamming us daily!

In topic: one of your clients, thereiner.eu is spamming us daily!

You should be logged in to post new messages. Create an account.

On Mar, 9 2007 09:15 CET, Hugo Heule wrote:
On Mar, 8 2007 18:24 CET, ally wrote:
we are getting hit at our office and our homes BOTH constantly from
one
of your clients, THEREINER.EU - this needs to STOP. we've asked them
to
stop, but they refuse. we get more spam from them than all the other
spam combined. it's getting absurd and we want something done about
this!
Hi,

We are not spamming!!
There is something going wrong with an email address of one of our
users
of our website www.theReiner.eu I think it is a concurrent site who
wants to stop us.
I can not find for this moment.

Hugo
What Hugo is describing is commonly referred to as a "Joe job". 

While this may or may not be the case here, it may be interesting for
all to learn that the "from" or "reply-to" address in the e-mails you
get may easily be faked. This is simply done in your e-mail client (ex.
Thunderbird), where you specify somebody else's address as the sender.
For more details on this, you can refer to:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_job

It is for this reason that whenever you receive a spam, you must not
immediately believe that it is from the person it says it is from. This
is why when you send your spam complaint, you send the full header of
the spam, so that the person reading your complaint has a better idea
of who actually sent the spam. For more on full headers, and how to
read them: http://www.spamtrackers.eu/wiki/index.php?...

This is also why it is very important that each case involving spam must
be investigated closely, and with care.

Due to the nature of such types of spam, there is little one can do,
mainly because literally *anyone* with an e-mail client can send spam
from fake e-mail addresses...

If you have further questions on this, feel free to post them in our
blog at:
http://www.gandibar.net/post/2007/02/05/CN...

Best regards,

Ryan
Gandi SAS
Ryan
http://www.gandi.net/