Gandi.net Groups

Blog General: Re: virus?

In topic: virus?

You should be logged in to post new messages. Create an account.

On Jun, 17 2007 19:56 CEST, jon wrote:
They also are using this domain:  RATETHISFACE.NET





On Avr, 13 2007 17:05 CEST, random name here wrote:
I belive that there is this virus that spreads by hijacking the users
MSN and opening a dialog box to all online contancts. It sends a
message to the contacts saying something along the line of "hey is
this
u in the picture??" and it gives a URL
http://www.hothotpeople.net/photo8.com. After the virus sends the
message to all of the contacts the computer freezes up and has to be
restarted. After which if the user trys to open MSN again it freezes
the computer. It also is using alot of the user's CPU power. Most
people would not realize that the photo8.com "picture" is not
actually
a web site its another form of executeable (.com). I pinged the URL
http://www.hothotpeople.net and it gave me an IP address of
217.70.184.38 and then i did a whois search of the address and that
lead me to this site. I belive that this website is hosting some kind
of malware at that location. If the file was removed then the virus
would not be able to spread to anymore people because the link in the
message would be invalid. please investigate this and take appropiate
action bassed on your investigation.

sincerly,random name here ______
David Phillips